To market, to market, Notting Hill, and more…

OK, I know I posted yesterday, but I really like this blogging thing. Plus, there are lots more things I want to tell!

So, yesterday was a great day. I met up with the aforementioned group and we headed to Borough markets – a food market near the London Bridge. Without spending any money, we could fill up on samples of cheeses, breads and delicious sweets. The place was full of people, and had a really cool atmosphere. From there we crossed the London Bridge and walked around the city for a while. The highlight of this wandering was seeing St Paul’s Cathedral. What a magnificent piece of architecture!

St Paul’s Cathedral

We ended our afternoon with a trip to the Tate Modern, a huge gallery of modern art which is known all over the world. I went there last time I was in London, but there was still plenty for me to take in. Some of the art is really wonderful and inspiring. But then there is the odd piece which makes me think that a 5-year-old could have done it.. Am I uncultured to say that? We only spent an hour or two there, not nearly enough to cover the whole place. I think we all plan to go back in our own time to have a better look.

Back at the residnece I made my debut in the laundry. Unfortunately, a couple of items of my clothing shrunk in the dryer. Those who are aware of my domestic incapability will realise that I got off lightly there.

While I was waiting for my washing, I was reading my Europe lonely planet guide, and I highlighted places I want to go to. The best thing about being in London is definitely the prospect of having the rest of Europe on the doorstep. I’ve already been discussing with my friends places we want to go to. Fortunately, many of them are also English Literature students. So among other things, we’re going to visit the literary places in England, which I’m very much looking forward to! Bath is the top of my list.

Last night some of the people in my residence introduced me to British humour – we watched Shaun of the Dead. It was reasonably funny, although I was so tired that I couldn’t keep my eyes open! I still can’t sleep past about 6.30 in the morning.

Yesterday wasn’t the best day weather-wise. But today – today was absolutely perfect. It’s the first sunny day I’ve had since I’ve been here. My friend Jess and I decided to go to Notting Hill today. Being one of my favourite movies, I wanted to see where it all came about. We found the famous travel book store (yes I realise the scenes were filmed in a studio…) We walked along Portobello Road, which reminded me of a movie I used to watch when I was younger – Bedknobs and Broomsticks. It was a really lovely little area with some cute shops and places to eat.

A residential street of Notting Hill – fancy living there?

Jess and me at Kensington gardens – Jess studies at Monash with me. She’s on exhchange at City University London.

After Notting Hill, we spontaneously decided to go to the Victoria and Albert Museum, one of the museums I didn’t make it to last time I was here. There were some interesting bits and pieces there, but we were quite exhausted from our day of walking, so we didn’t stay for an incredibly long time.

More and more people are returning to the residence after their Christmas breaks, so I’m continuing to meet lots of new people. Tomorrow morning it’s back to uni for my introduction to Comparative Literature. They’re going to tell us about the piles of books we’re going to have to read!

By the way – I hope you enjoyed the addition of pictures in this post. Soon there will be enough to warrant a Facebook album!

4 thoughts on “To market, to market, Notting Hill, and more…

  1. Hey! Aditi here. I figured I should comment so I could also explain that I saw you use Twitter because of your blog haha. Not because I am a scary stalker!

    I want to visit Notting Hill too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

