Final stop: Madrid

I’ve been sitting in front of my computer screen procrastinating for a while, which is quite unlike me. The thing is, I’m having a bit of trouble deciding what to write about Spain’s capital city. It’s not that Madrid is a boring place. There was plenty for us to do there, lots going on all the time. And the problem certainly isn’t that I didn’t like Madrid, because I absolutely did. It’s just that Madrid doesn’t have that effortless beauty and charm possessed by the likes of Paris, Rome and Prague. So I guess I have to work harder to articulate why we liked it.

What Madrid does have is world-class museums. The most famous one, and our starting point, was the Museo Nacional del Prado. It contains a seemingly infinite amount of remarkable artworks from many of the world’s greatest painters.

On our first full day in Madrid, we decided to go on one of the New Europe walking tours. As usual, it was entertaining and informative. It gave us a good feel for the city, in terms of geography, history, culture, and more. Among the things we saw was the world’s oldest restaurant, which was opened some time in the 18th Century if I remember correctly, and has not closed a day since.

Plaza Mayor, the starting point of the tour

That afternoon, we decided to hit the second of the big three museums. The Reina Sofia is the modern art museum, and might have been my favourite. It’s got plenty of Picasso, Dali, and other famous works. But it’s also filled with cool and bizarre pieces from modern artists I’ve never heard of.